Skip to main content
Ithaca Schools - click for home 
Ithaca City Schools - click for home

All Ithaca City School District schools are closed through the end of the academic year.

Budget Development | Budget FAQs
Budget Vote and Election
Digital Time Capsule
Distance Learning
School Closure Updates
School Meals During Closure
Staff Information

Superintendent Brown Selected to Receive Appreciation Award

Ithaca City School District Superintendent Dr. Luvelle Brown has been selected by the New York State Council of School Superintendents (“The Council”) to receive the 2020 Appreciation Award. This annual award is given in recognition of the extraordinary efforts by members of The Council to improve public education and serve the children in New York State.
Dr. Brown speaks at the 2019 Diversity Symposium of Thought Leaders
Dr. Brown speaking at the 2019 Diversity Symposium of Thought Leaders.

This year, the Appreciation Award will be presented to two individuals, Brown and Superintendent Dr. L. Oliver Robinson of the Shenendehowa Central School District, who together established The Council’s Commission on Diversity and Inclusivity. As co-chairs, Brown and Robinson continue to lead the commission in its efforts to promote equity, cultural responsiveness, and inclusion in public school.

Since 2018, the ICSD has hosted the commission’s annual Diversity Symposium of Thought Leaders, a two-day national conference for educators. The commission has also conducted regional workshops in Rochester, Saratoga Springs, Long Island, Albany, New York City, and other locations throughout New York State. 

Brown and Robinson will be presented with the 2020 Appreciation Award on March 1, during The Council’s annual Winter Institute in Albany, N.Y. Brown, who has served as the Superintendent of the Ithaca City School District since 2011, is the recipient of various other awards and recognitions, including:
  • 2017 New York Superintendent of the Year
  • National School Board Association’s “20-to-Watch”
  • 2019 Tompkins County Distinguished Citizen Award