Skip to main content
Ithaca Schools - click for home 
Ithaca City Schools - click for home
 
 

Communication Protocol for Parents and Caregivers

The Ithaca City School District is committed to building healthy partnerships between schools, families, and communities to better support the well-being of students academically, socially, and emotionally. Creating environments that foster mutually respectful and engaging communication is a priority for our district.  

We believe that sharing information and working through issues are best handled when both sides work together to dialogue and find solutions as close to the origin as possible. It is an important goal of the ICSD to work together with school personnel and families to ensure the best results for every child’s education. 

Below are the appropriate steps to take in communicating with school district personnel when you have concerns or questions involving your child’s instruction, discipline, intervention services, or learning materials.

If you have an issue directly related to your child’s safety or an emergency situation, please call the school directly and office staff will connect you with an administrator or lead teacher to help.
  1. Contact your child’s classroom teacher or instructional support teacher by phone or email. For special education cases, please contact the Master Educator of Inclusion assigned to your child’s school. For Dignity for All Students (DASA) cases, please contact ICSD DASA Coordinator Amanda Verba at amanda.verba@icsd.k12.ny.us or (607) 274-2121.
     
  2. If you have not received a response from the teacher, Master Educator, or DASA Coordinator within three (3) business days, or if you are unsatisfied with the resolution or communication exchange, please contact your child’s building principal by phone or email.
     
  3. If you have not received a response from the building principal within three (3) business days, or if you are unsatisfied with the resolution or communication exchange, please contact Deputy Superintendent Lily Talcott at lily.talcott@icsd.k12.ny.us or (607) 274-2134.   
     
  4. If you have not received a response from the Deputy Superintendent within three (3) business days, or if you are unsatisfied with the resolution or communication exchange, please contact Superintendent Dr. Luvelle Brown at luvelle.brown@icsd.k12.ny.us or (607) 274-6845.
     
  5. If you have not received a response from the Superintendent within three (3) business days, or if you are unsatisfied with the resolution or communication exchange, please contact members of the Board of Education. Contact information for Board of Education members can be found on the Ithaca City School District website.

Below is the contact information for each school’s principal and Master Educator for Inclusion, as well as for the district cafeteria manager and district transportation manager. In all school buildings, there are also many support staff members, such as social workers, school counselors, and family liaisons, who are available to assist parents and caregivers.

There are several local organizations in Ithaca that provide support to parents and caregivers who prefer to have an outside advocate assist them in communicating with school and district leaders. Please contact Deputy Superintendent Lily Talcott if you would like help in finding a local organization for support.
 

Elementary School Contacts

Belle Sherman
(607) 274-2206
Principal: Jeffrey Tomasik
JTomasik@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Erin Hammes
erin.hammes@icsd.k12.ny.us
Beverly J. Martin
(607) 274-2209
Principal: Dr. Susan Eschbach
susan.eschbach@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Bart Auble
bauble@icsd.k12.ny.us
Caroline
(607) 539-7155
Principal: Kristin Herman
kristin.herman@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Beth Snyder
beth.snyder@icsd.k12.ny.us
Cayuga Heights
(607) 257-8557
Principal: Lisa Sahasrabudhe
lsahasra@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Beth Snyder
beth.snyder@icsd.k12.ny.us
Enfield
(607) 274-2221
Principal: Keith Harrington
kharring@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Lisa Rieger
lisa.rieger@icsd.k12.ny.us
Fall Creek
(607) 274-2214
Principal: Caitlin Bram
caitlin.bram@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Bart Auble
bauble@icsd.k12.ny.us
Northeast
(607) 257-2121
Principal: Liddy Coyle
eallee@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Jennifer Gondek
jennifer.gondek@icsd.k12.ny.us
South Hill
(607) 274-2129
Principal: Perry Gorgen
perry.gorgen@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Erin Hammes
erin.hammes@icsd.k12.ny.us


Secondary School Contacts

Boynton Middle School
(607) 274-2241
Principal: Lauren Wright
lauren.wright@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Tara Caiza
tara.caiza@icsd.k12.ny.us
DeWitt Middle School
(607) 257-3222
Principal: Carlan Gray
cgray@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Tara Caiza
tara.caiza@icsd.k12.ny.us
LACS
(607) 274-2183
Principal: Deborah Ptak
deborah.ptak@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Lisa Rieger
lisa.rieger@icsd.k12.ny.us
Ithaca High School
(607) 274-2143
Principal: Jason Trumble
jtrumble@icsd.k12.ny.us
Master Educator: Margie Shaw
margaret.shaw@icsd.k12.ny.us


District Contacts

Child Nutrition
(607) 274-2302
Cafeteria Manager: Beth Krause
beth.krause@icsd.k12.ny.us
Transportation
(607) 274-2128
Bus Manager: Elizabeth Berner
elizabeth.berner@icsd.k12.ny.us