Skip to main content
culture of love     engaged and empowered learning       schoolTool youtube facebook twitter Calendar    
ithaca home

March 2019 Commendations

On March 12, the ICSD Board of Education and Superintendent Brown recognized the extraordinary achievements of students and staff at the second Commendation Ceremony of the school year.

The purpose of the ceremonies is to celebrate the success of Team ICSD members who go above and beyond in the arts, athletics, and the community. Special recognition is also paid to individuals who embody one or more of the tenets of the ICSD’s Culture of Love: honest, caring, forgiving, trusting, committed, and selfless.

Culture of Love Awards
  • Selfless and committed: third graders from Enfield Elementary engaged in a self-driven case study investigating the plastic waste and water waste associated with disposable cup usage in the school. The students then partnered with local organizations and national companies to bring reusable metal cups to all Enfield classrooms.
  • Committed: special education teacher Evalyn Brazeau has demonstrated exemplary service, in-depth understanding, and a dedication to special education literacy at Boynton Middle School.
  • Caring: school nurses Barbara Masser (Belle Sherman Elementary) and Caryl Silberman (Caroline Elementary) go above and beyond in providing exceptional care and support to their students and families.
  • Selfless: three members of the transportation department played critical roles in responding to a house fire. After dropping off their students, bus driver Ted Zakour and teacher aide Terrell Williams noticed the burning house and stopped. Being the first ones on the scene, they radioed in to Tina Lindblad and then kicked down the door to rescue two animals that were inside. Lindblad provided outstanding support and information to the Tompkins County Department of Emergency Response, helping manage the situation. Afterward, the transportation department sought donations for the family and raised $500 in just a few days.
Individual and Team Awards
  • Sixth-grader Nicolas Poelling received the Dorothy Cotton Poetry Award for his poem, “The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, A Lie.”
  • Junior Magda Smith is a recipient of numerous poetry and writing awards, including a 2019 YoungArts national award in the discipline of spoken word.
  • The IHS Brain Team has won two quizbowl tournaments this year and recently set a national all-time record for highest points per game in a regular season tournament. Team members include seniors Isaiah Gutman, Vaynu Kadiyali, and Julian Perry, juniors Kaelan Imani and Aidan Uckun, and freshman Rohit Lal.
  • Seniors Karimah Adib-Jones and Natalie Irwin were selected as student delegates for the 2019 Puerto Rican/Hispanic Youth Leadership Institute (PR/HYLI). Adib-Jones was awarded Governor of the House; Irwin was awarded Assistant Speaker of the House and named Delegate of the Year for the Syracuse Delegation.
  • Boynton Middle School librarian Annarose Foley was recognized for being an invaluable member of the New York Library Association (NYLA). Foley has served as Region VII Coordinator for the NYLA Section of School Librarians for the past four years.
  • Senior Kalena Yearwood finished first in the weight throw and the shot put at the Section IV Winter Track & Field State Qualifier and received the Section IV Sportsmanship Award. After medaling at the state championships, Yearwood went on to place third in the weight throw in the “Emerging Elite” division of the New Balance Indoor Nationals.
  • Seniors Reed Baker, Kelty Goodrow, and Kiely Howe were selected to the Section III all-league girls ice hockey teams. Baker made all-league second team; Goodrow made all-league first team and was named MVP of the league; and Howe made all-league first team and was the league’s top defender.
  • Juniors Alexander Simpson and Geoffrey Washington and sophomore Elinor Kops Kuveke competed in the winter track & field state championships. Simpson placed second in the 600 meter run; Washington placed third in the triple jump; and Kops Kuveke placed first in the 55 meter hurdles.
  • Junior Ryan Morse was invited to compete with the New York State alpine ski team at the Eastern High School Championships.
  • Junior Ashanti Stanley placed first in the triple jump at the winter track & field Section IV Class Championships.
  • Eight IHS band students were accepted into New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Conference All-State, the highest possible recognition in the state. Congratulations Christopher Dev (11), Kieran Galloway (12), Laura Lin (12), Rowan Lynch (12), Luke Monaghan (12), Sherrie Qian (12), Jefferson Sheng (11), and Justin Tan (12).
  • 15 middle school students were selected to participate in the 2019 Statewide Middle School Honor Band. Ithaca has placed more students in the statewide band than any other school in New York State. Congratulations Ruby Adams (8), Juliet Crane (7), Alicia Fulbright (8), Anna Fulbright (8), Mika Gazit (8), Josephine Goodreau (8), Adeline Hitz (8), Jacob Merrill (8), Felipe Poelling (8), Annabelle Riker (8), Claire Russell (8), Nicholas Schill (7), William Shanton (8), David Slattery (8), and Tala Solomon (8).
  • The varsity boys swimming & diving team won the Section IV Class A Championship for the third year in a row. Team members include Sebastian Acosta (10), Nate Adams (11), Carter Anderson (11), Robert Bael (9), Robert Chatrchya (8), Ivan Chen (8), Wil Dewey (11), Zachary Foley (11), Flaminio Glaubitz (11), David Guan (9), Ethan Ku (10), Jake LaFaye (12), Ryan Mao (11), Norbu Naftel (10), Ben Nathabheem (10), Declan Poles (9), Brady Reid (10), Sean Ross (12), Duncan Russell-Anelli (11), Micah Schwartz (11), Ben Silbert (11), Evan Stevens (12), Victor Teng (10), Kelvin Wang (11), and Raymond Wang (11).
  • The JV boys basketball team won the Southern Tier Athletic Conference (STAC) Championship. Team members include Garrett Backus (9), Jayden Bailey (9), Gio Brooks (11), Sincere Clemons (8), Jeremy Conklin (10), Tyrone Dean (8), Cade Eels (10), Sai’d Galloway (9), Etienne Johnson (10), Sam Lynch (10), Kaiden Malpasso (9), Michael Moylan (10), Elliott Nelson (9), Michael Thomas (9), and Justin Yearwood (8).
  • Senior Rachel O’Brien, junior JoJo Strogatz, and freshman Sam Sachs were named to the American Choral Directors Association National Honor Choir.

Click thumbnails to enlarge photos.
March 2019 Commendations - Magda Smith
Magda Smith
March 2019 Commendations - Boys JV Basketball Team
Boys JV Basketball Team
March 2019 Commendations
Caryl Silberman & Barbara Masser
March 2019 Commendations - Statewide Middle School Band
Statewide Middle School Honor Band
March Commendations - Terrell Williams & Tina Lindblad
Terrell Williams & Tina Lindblad
Ryan Morse
Ryan Morse
March 2019 Commendations Boys Swim and Dive
Boys Swim & Dive Team
March Commendations - Kalena Yearwood
Kalena Yearwood
March Commendations - Girls Ice Hockey Players
Kiely Howe, Reed Baker, Kelty Goodrow
March Commendations - Annarose Foley
Annarose Foley
March Commendations - Enfield Third Graders
Enfield Elementary Third Graders
March Commendations - PR/HYLI Delegates
Natalie Irwin & Karimah Adib-Jones
March Commendations - Evalyn Brazeau
Evalyn Brazeau
March 2019 Commendations
Rachel O’Brien, Sam Sachs, JoJo Strogatz
March 2019 Commendations - Nicolas Poelling
Nicolas Poelling
March 2019 Commendations - Winter Track & Field
Geoffrey Williams & Alexander Simpson

Belle Sherman
Beverly J Martin
Cayuga Heights
Fall Creek
South Hill
Boynton Middle
DeWitt Middle
Ithaca HS
Lehman Alternative


Ithaca City School District
Dr. Luvelle Brown, Superintendent
400 Lake Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 274-2101