Skip to main content
culture of love     engaged and empowered learning       schoolTool youtube facebook twitter Calendar    
ithaca home

June 2018 Commendation Ceremony

Students and staff were recognized on June 12 for extraordinary achievements during the Ithaca City School District Board of Education Commendations Ceremony. The quarterly event celebrates the achievements of Team ICSD members who go above and beyond in academics, the arts, sports, or the community.
Those recognized at the ceremony include:
  • Miryam Ginsparg, Michael Guan, Shuah Jang, David Sheng, Leo Song, Arjun Sweet, and Jenny Yoon: Recipients of the New York State Academic Excellence Scholarship
  • Kim Snow: Distinguished Member of Greek Peak Ski Patrol
  • Vivek Myers: Recipient of the National Merit Scholarship
  • Danielle Hemly: Recipient of the NYS Correctional Officers & Police Benevolent Association Scholarship
  • Hannah Barden: Recipient of the Congress-Bundestag Youth Scholar Exchange Scholarship
  • Karimah Adib, Olympia Canales, Henrique De Lemos, Natalie Irwin, Eva Mecham, Jerilynn Quinones, Alisandra Torres, and Ashmir Zephyr-Sanchez: Participants in the Angelo Del Toro Puerto Rican/Hispanic Youth Leadership Institute
  • Jonathyn Thornton: Recipient of the Taughannock 76er Award for Outstanding Leadership in Boy Scouts
  • Beverly J. Martin 5th Grade Students: Dedication to Community Service Projects
  • Joanna Strogatz: 2018 YoungArts Winner
  • Reese Mount, Annabelle Riker, Anna Fulbright, Kira Russell, Clare Weislogel, Katherine Travis, Isabella Pauldine, Felipe Poelling, Jacob Merrill, Raymond Blegen, Clara Weber, and Claire Russell: Highest Possible NYSSMA Rating
  • Boynton Middle School Band, Chorus, and Orchestra: 1st Place Overall Winners at Music in the Park
  • Wynne Williams-Ceci: Recipient of the National Scholastic Writing Competition Gold Key Award
  • LACS Mock Trial Team: Tompkins County Champions
  • IHS Brain Team: QuizBowl Champions
  • Participants in the Girls’ Adventures in Mathematics Tournament at Cornell
  • Aidan Foley, Michael Guan, Vivek Myers, Sara Xin, Paul Fisher-York, Kaelan Imani, and Eli Zhang: 3rd Place Winners at High School Programming Competitions
  • Ithaca Technology Student Association: Outstanding Performance at the 40th Annual Connecticut TSA Conference
  • Kalena Yearwood (Shotput), Addison Wolff (Discus), Matthew Funicelli (Discus), and the Varsity Boys Tennis Team: STAC 1st Place Champions
  • Girls Varsity Lacrosse, Boys Varsity Lacrosse, Aidan Campbell and Felix Shi (Tennis Doubles), and Boys Varsity Basketball: New York State Section IV Champions
  • Varsity Girls Lacrosse, Varsity Boys Lacrosse, Varsity Boys Tennis, Varsity Softball, and Varsity Track & Field: New York State Public High School Athletic Association Scholar Teams
  • Ryan Sposito: Named a US Lacrosse All-American
  • Alexander Goss: Dream Riders Dirt Bike Race 1st Place Champion
  • Varsity Softball: Most Wins in a Season Since 1994
  • David Buchner and Steve Weissburg: Recipients of the Governor’s Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Marta Costa-Potter: Customer Service Superstar
  • Emily Graber: Record-Breaking Assistant Coach of Ithaca College Women’s Gymnastics Team
  • Dawn Thornton: MSW Graduate and 2018 Fordham University Student Commencement Speaker
View photos of the June Commendation Ceremony on our Facebook page here:

Belle Sherman
Beverly J Martin
Cayuga Heights
Fall Creek
South Hill
Boynton Middle
DeWitt Middle
Ithaca HS
Lehman Alternative


Ithaca City School District
Dr. Luvelle Brown, Superintendent
400 Lake Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
(607) 274-2101